Concluding my Peru trip

With everything that has been going on (defense, moving, etc.), I realize that I have fallen way behind with my blogging! So here is the final update from my Peru field trip, I hope you enjoy!

IMG_5719
Some of the snow-capped volcanoes around Arequipa

For the last leg of my Peru trip, I journeyed to Southern Peru, specifically to the area around Arequipa, which was a Spanish colonial city nested in a valley around several volcanoes. Here I had pretty good success working with two of my target hummingbird species – Peruvian sheartail (video of display, side video) and oasis hummingbird (video of display, side video).

0414181517d.jpg
A male oasis hummingbird (Thaumastura vesper; formerly Rhodopis vesper)
0415181349g.jpg
A Peruvian sheartail male (Thaumastura cora)

I stayed at a wonderful hotel outside of the city, which was great because I could walk to one of my field sites that was just outside of town. At this field site, along many farm plots, wound a creek along some desert hills. It was among these hills and the creek bed where I found both species holding territories and displaying.

IMG_5713IMG_5715

IMG_5783
A Peruvian sheartail perching in his territory

My other field site was about 2 hours away from town, along another riverbed, but in a much more desert-based habitat, as you can see from these pictures.

IMG_5747IMG_5751

At this field site, I was looking for the elusive purple-collared woodstar, and while I never was able to work with them, I found some additional oasis hummingbirds. The best part about this field site, is that I caught an oasis hummingbird male with my bare hand!! It was hanging out near the female in her cage, as in the blow photos, and I just quickly pinned it against the cage and was able to capture it. (it was not hurt in any way!) So that was an awesome moment for me in my research.

IMG_5797IMG_5799

Overall, I loved the area around Arequipa. It was a beautiful place, surrounded by these snow-capped volcanoes, and the people were very friendly. I had a great time working with my wonderful field assistant, Carla Llerena Quiroz, and visiting the university/museum of my collaborator, Mauricio Ugarte at El Museo de Historia Natural de la Universidad Nacional San Augustin, where I gave a seminar for them. All in all, this leg of my trip was very successful, and I then returned to the US to begin analyzing those data I collected and wrapping up my dissertation. More on all that in the future, so for now, here are a few additional photos from highlights of my Arequipa trip:

IMG_5842
A Peruvian sheartail nest
0414180953
The awkward way we have to drive with our mist-net poles to the field (we drove like this for over an hour).
img_5774.jpg
The famous giant hummingbird (Patagona gigas), which can weigh up to 25 grams!
IMG_5811
The super barren desert around Arequipa, which makes the deserts around Phoenix look like lush tropical rainforests in comparison.

 

 

One thought on “Concluding my Peru trip”

  1. Wow, nice pictures! Hummingbirds are some of the most spectacular birds in the world I think! Just amazing how glossy and colourful they are! I’ve never seen any unfortunately, since I’ve never been to America. I think it’s really cool how they live in all sorts of habitats, from deserts to rainforests. I go birding mainly in South-east Asia since I currently live in Sri Lanka. I post trip reports on the places I birded, so feel free to check my blog to see images of other colourful and sought-after tropical birds: https://myzoneisbirding.wordpress.com

Leave a comment