Fieldwork starts today!

Today is officially my first day of field work this summer! It is going to be a crazy summer, where I will travel to 5-6 different locations for hummingbird research, teaching, and presenting my work. My goal is to consistently post once a week with updates on what I am doing or random posts about places I am visiting.

IMG_8306

Today and for the next two weeks I am back in Southeast Arizona, near a town called Elgin. I am staying at the Audubon Appleton-Whittell Research Ranch (picture above), where I stayed last year, working on black-chinned hummingbirds. It feels great to be back out in the field, and I am very excited for many new adventures and productive research this summer! Below is my travel schedule for a preview of some of the places I will be visiting this summer and posting about:

May 3-15 = Appleton-Whittell Research Ranch; black-chinned hummingbirds

May 17-31 = ???? (due to a snafu with permits, I am still not sure where I will be during this time….I’ll have a post about permit troubles later, I am guessing.)

June 3-24 = Panama; I am a teaching-assistant for an ASU study abroad field biology course

June 27-July 17 = Sagehen Creek Field Station (near Lake Tahoe in California); Calliope hummingbirds

July 20-25 = Flagstaff, AZ; broad-tailed hummingbirds

July 27-August 7 = Exeter/Penryn, United Kingdom; International Society for Behavioral Ecology Conference and Anti-predator Coloration Symposium (post-conference)

 

Leave a Reply

