Field Update #5: End of field work, part 1

Yesterday, I finished my field work in southern Arizona on black-chinned hummingbirds. While I may not have filmed/captured as many hummingbirds as I was originally hoping, I was able to get some great data and will hopefully be back next year to finish up my work on the species. Now I am at home, for a few days, before I travel to South Carolina to visit my mom and attend a family reunion! After that I will be doing more fieldwork in Flagstaff, on broad-tailed hummingbirds, which I had great success with last year. So, lots of fun and exciting things to talk about here in the future! For now, here are some interesting things I saw during my time in Southern Arizona.

IMG_8439

Here is a really cool stick insect I saw that blended in perfectly with the grass.

IMG_8458

I always love looking into flowers while I’m hiking, because I’m likely to find a bee, like this one, enjoying herself some pollen and/or nectar.

IMG_8478

This isn’t a hummingbird?? Gila woodpeckers were common visitors to hummingbird feeders, though they often become pests, because they would either tip over the feeder or destroy it by drilling their own holes.

IMG_8632

Here is a family of Coati, which was a really fun find. The baby was quite adorable, but its watchful parents never took their eyes off me.

IMG_8709

Pronghorn are, with help, making a great comeback in southern Arizona, especially in the area I was in.

IMG_9033

Roadrunners are always interesting birds to see, but this was a really cool find. This individual has a mouse it recently caught in its beak, which it stopped to show me before it ran way.

IMG_9100

The summer tanager, another colorful bird you can find in Arizona.

IMG_9133

Here is another flower-bee picture, but I was told this bee is a bumblebee worker (thank you Meghan!)

IMG_9143

When I sat down to rest during a hummingbird scouting trip, I noticed that I was sitting next to this web with two spiders in it. I sat there and watched them for a while, and tried to feed them some juicy flies that kept landing on me.

Leave a Reply

