Field Update #4: Filming and capturing males

IMG_0439This will be a short update today, due to internet limitations, but much more to come once I’m done with my field work.

I’ve been filming and trapping male black-chinned hummingbirds lately with success! I will upload a black-chinned shuttle video to YouTube as soon as I can, similar to this one of a broad-tailed hummingbird shuttle from my work last year. I’ll also upload a video of a Costa’s hummingbird shuttle, and then you can see the evolution of my cage stand equipment from an opaque tripod to this:

Finally, I’ve managed to catch 1/3 of the males I’ve filmed. Here are a few pictures of some black-chinned males in the hand.

IMG_0503

IMG_0504

One thought on “Field Update #4: Filming and capturing males

  1. Pingback: New YouTube Channel | Richard K. Simpson

Leave a Reply

