Field Update #3: Capturing hummingbirds with my advisor

IMG_0444 - Version 2Last week, my advisor Kevin McGraw (link) came to visit and help out with my fieldwork. While the weather tried to ruin his visit (constant 15+ mph winds), we did get to trap some cool hummingbirds. Since my fieldwork here is focused on black-chinned hummingbirds we caught several of them, but we couldn’t resist capturing some of the other beautiful and interesting species that occur here. We managed to catch a broad-billed hummingbird and violet-crowned hummingbird (which was a lifer for me!). The violet-crowned was so much bigger than the hummingbirds I’m used to working with, which was a very interesting experience for me. We also plucked a few feathers from the extra species. They possess colors that none of my dissertation species have, which allows me to explore additional hummingbird plumage colors for a side project. Here are some of the pictures:

IMG_0461

IMG_0463

IMG_0473_2

IMG_0455 - Version 2

Leave a Reply

